Workflow Recommendations

Suggested approaches for sharing files and structuring collaboration.

This guide covers suggested approaches for sharing files and structuring workflows. For more visual stepwise guides on everything you see on this page, please go to our collaboration, accounts or Tenancy Management topics.

Create a space to receive files

Receiving content is easy! You just need to create a space for your contact(s) to upload files to.

  1. Create a folder and name it (you can also upload a folder)
  2. Select the folder
  3. Share it with your contact(s) and grant them Download + upload permission
File manager showing 13 items with Upload files, Create folder, Share, and Request Signature buttons, plus Shared, Not shared, Signed, and Awaiting status labels.

Tip: this is your folder, so you can upload files and folders to it at any time and they will be automatically shared with whomever you’ve shared the root of the folder with. You’ll also be able to access anything an uploader adds to the folder.

Share files that support a signature request

Need to send files that support an approval? This can be managed using folders.

  1. Create a folder
  2. Upload the document that needs to be signed and set up the signature request
  3. Upload the files that support the request
  4. Share the folder with whoever needs access (make sure you include the signer!)
Files list in the "Design approval" folder showing the PDF "01_01_2023 meeting minutes.pdf" with Shared and Awaiting status tags.

Tip: if other users need to add supporting files, add them to the folder share and grant them Download + upload permission.

Set up a new collaborative document

Looking for a way to co-author a file from scratch? You can do this without external tools like Word!

  1. Create a New file and name it
  2. Add anything you need to the file before it gets sent
  3. Share the file with your collaborators and grant them Full permissions
Dekko Files page showing the toolbar with New file, Share and other actions, and the empty All files view.

Tip: if you need to share the progress of a file with a user who doesn’t need to make any changes, you can share with them and grant View only permission.

Share a file with a group of people that can’t see each other

Need to “BCC” a file share? This can be managed using Hub visibility. Users who are External can’t see each other in the Hub contact list in Core Hubs, even if common files are shared with them. Files for a group of externals should therefore be shared by a Team Member.

If the users are already in the Core Hub:

  1. Make sure the users’ visibility type is External member using the Hub management view or Tenancy Manager

    Note: if you can’t access user management, ask the Hub or Tenancy admin to check user visibility

  2. Upload the file(s) and share them with the users, granting an appropriate permission

If the users aren’t in the Hub:

  1. Upload the files, select them, and press Share

  2. Add the email addresses of the users that need access

    Users that are new to the Hub will be marked with (New to this Hub)

  3. Set all users to External member and then press Share.

    Share dialog for six files in the Internal Reviews Hub, with new external users set to "External member" and the role dropdown open, highlighting the External member option.

Share files with everyone in a Core Hub

Have some files that need to be shared with your entire Core Hub’s contact list? The “Mass share” feature can do this quickly and easily.

  1. Upload the files, select them, and press Share
  2. Switch to the Mass share tab and select everyone using the All users option
  3. Grant an appropriate permission and then press Share
Files list in the DekkoSecure web app showing the top toolbar with Share, Upload files and Sign buttons, and each file's status (Shared or Not shared).

Tip: if you’re sharing lots of files with lots of users, it might take a little while to process the share - please allow approximately 1 second of processing time, per file, per user.

Share files with an unregistered user

Sharing with someone who doesn’t have a DekkoSecure account! The share-and-invite feature makes this easy - no separate invites required.

  1. Upload the files, select them, and press Share

  2. Add the email addresses of the users that need access

    Users that are new to DekkoSecure (and new to the Hub) will be marked with (New to this Hub)

  3. Set the appropriate access permission and user type (Team or External) and then press Share. Your invitee will be able to access shared files after they create an account using their invite.

File list in the Hub showing the Owner, Name, Date, Events and Status columns, with Shared and Not shared status badges.

Tip: if the sharing menu doesn’t allow you to share with users who aren’t members of the selected Hub, this means the share-and-invite feature has been disabled by your organisation admin. If this is the case, send the unregistered user an invite before sharing or ask your Hub Admin, a Tenancy Manager or a Team Member with invite permission to send an invite if you don’t have permission.

Can I pause an upload/download and return to it later?

Yes. DekkoCORE supports upload and download interruption and automatic resumption. If you lose your network connection or move away from the page, your upload or download will pause and automatically resume when your connection is re-established.

Be aware that Chrome and Edge may put DekkoCORE to sleep if you switch to another tab during an upload or download. Keep the DekkoCORE tab in the foreground until the transfer completes to avoid this.

Was this article helpful?
Didn't find what you need?Ask the AI assistant about this topic, or contact support.
Request support