1. Knowledge base
  2. Uploading and Downloading

Uploading, downloading and managing content

The Dekko platform lets you store, manage and share files and folders. There are no file size limits with Dekko file sharing - the only limit is your internet connection speed (and patience!).

 

Before utilising Dekko’s content handling features, it is best to familiarise yourself with the way contacts and HUBs function.

Uploading to Dekko

Before uploading content to Dekko, ensure you have the right HUB selected. If you have ‘ALL’ selected, Dekko will ask which HUB you would like to upload content to.

To upload content to Dekko:

  1. Files

    Press the ‘Upload file’ button; your file browser will open. You can select one or many files to upload. Press ‘Open’ once you have made your selection.

    Folders:

    Press the ‘Upload folder’ button; your file browser will open. Press ‘Open’ once you have made your selection.

  2. Once the upload is complete, Dekko will ask if you would like to share your uploaded content. You can do this immediately by pressing ‘OK’, or later by pressing ‘Cancel’.

Dekko will recover uploads that are interrupted, such as connection dropouts or accidentally closing your browser. If your connection drops while uploads are in progress do not press ‘Upload’ again; Dekko will continue the upload automatically or ask you to reselect the interrupted file.

Downloading from Dekko

To download content from Dekko:

  1. Files:

    Make a selection and then press the ‘Download’ button:

    Files will be downloaded to the default downloads location on your computer.

    Folders:

    Select the folder(s) you want to download, then press the ‘Download’ button: Folders are zipped to preserve their structure and then downloaded to the default downloads location on your computer. Zipping large folders can take some time depending on your system hardware.

    If files or folders are shared or shared with you, a download event will be logged and displayed to all users that the content is shared with:

Dekko will recover downloads that are interrupted, such as connection dropouts. If your connection drops while a download is in progress do not press ‘Download’ again; it will continue automatically.

Viewing documents in Dekko

PDF documents can be viewed in the platform without having to download them to your device. Support for viewing Office 365 documents (Word, Excel, Powerpoint) will be added in the future.

To view documents:

  1. Select the document and then press ‘View’:

  2. The document will load and be displayed. Use the controls on the left to navigate the document:

File and folder administration

Creating folders

You can create folders in the platform in any location that you own, or have permission to do so such as folders that are shared with you, where you have ‘Upload’ access or ‘Admin’ status.

To create folders in Dekko:

  1. Navigate to the location you want to create a folder, then press the ‘Create Folder’ button:

     
  2. Give the folder a name, then press ‘Save’:


If you create a folder in a location that is shared or shared with you, the folder you create will be shared with all users automatically, along with any content added to it.

If you do not want to share a sub-folder that you have created, select it, and then press the ‘Share’ button. Remove any users you don’t want the folder to be shared with:

Moving

You can move any content (files and folders) you upload to Dekko.

To move content:

  1. Select the file(s) and/or folder(s) you would like to move:

     
  2. Press the 'More' button and the ‘Move’ button. The content moving window will open; choose where the move destination, then press ‘Move’:

    If you are moving a large number of files and/or folders to or from a location that is shared with many users, the move processing time can be increased. Please allow a few moments for this to take place.

Your content has now been moved!

Renaming

You can rename files and folders that you own, or have been shared with you with the ‘Admin’ permission.

To rename files and folders:

  1. Select the file(s) and/or folder(s) you want to rename - you can select one or many - press the 'More' button and then press the ‘Rename’ button:

     
  2. Enter the new name(s) for the content you are renaming, then press ‘Save’:

Your content is now renamed! For any content that is shared, the new name(s) will be updated for all participating users.

Deleting

Deleting content in Dekko is Permanent. As part of our security guarantee, any information deleted from Dekko is unrecoverable.

To delete content in Dekko:

  1. Select the file(s) and/or folder(s) you want to delete, press the 'More' button and then press the ‘Delete’ button:

  2. The confirmation window will open. Confirm the deletion by pressing ‘Delete’:
    You can remove any accidentally selected content by pressing the blue cross button next to it.

    Any files that are shared with you will not be deleted, just removed from your account. Your content is now deleted!